Argonne National Laboratory

2012 APS/CNM/EMC Users Meeting
May 7-10, 2012

Meeting banner


APSUO Rosalind Franklin Young Investigator Award

2012 Winner: Damian C. Ekiert
The APS Users Organization and the Advanced Photon Source is pleased to announce that the 2012 APSUO Rosalind Franklin Young Investigator Award winner is Damian C. Ekiert, currently a postdoctoral fellow at the University of California, San Francisco. Nominated by Ian Wilson (Scripps), Damian carried out structural and functional studies of the influenza virus envelope glycoprotein hemagglutinin (HA) to understand how our immune system can neutralize the virus through interaction with the HA to prevent receptor binding and fusion. According to Wilson, Danian's thesis work was "simply spectacular and led to new optimism for development of a universal flu vaccine."

The Selection Committee had a very difficult time because all of the nominees were outstanding. The scientific community at the APS is fortunate to have individuals of this caliber among its young scientists. The APSUO thanks all the nominators for their time and effort in identifying and nurturing such outstanding young people.

Read more about the Franklin Award and Damian Ekiert and his research.


U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science |  Office of Basic Energy Sciences |  UChicago Argonne LLC

Privacy & Security Notice |  Contact Us |  Site Map